Nine departments form the foundation of the College of Medicine. Six clinical departments (Pediatrics, Obstetrics/Gynecology, Surgery, Internal Medicine, Psychiatry, and Family Medicine) represent the required clinical areas (by the Liaison Committee for Medical Education, LCME) for medical students in their third/fourth-year clerkship education.

Neurology, increasingly being recognized as another core clinical experience for students, is the seventh department. Our eighth, Pathology, is joined by the ninth, Biomedical Sciences, to form a gathering place in which PhD-level educators and researchers, working alongside physicians, collaborate and conduct the groundbreaking translational research that can directly affect patients at the bedside.